Five debutantes in season opener

Five players will make their debuts for MSP's premiers in the season opener against OBU at Evans Bay Park on Saturday.

No 8 Thomas Veitch from Christchurch's Marist Albion has his first start while the backline contains four debutantes - halfback Declan Hay (MSP colts last year), second-five Aviata Silago (from St Pats Silverstream), wing Andrew Wells (from Wellington College) and fullback Declan McKeefrey (transferred from Wests).

Arden David captains the side for the first time, while propping the other side of the scrum will be veteran captain Kas Lealamanua who led MSP's Jubilee Cup-winning side in 1999. The team is:

  1. Kas Lealamanua

  2. Ano Kapeli

  3. Arden David (c)

  4. Dan Turner

  5. Charlie Graham

  6. Ben Nansett

  7. Sio Tuia

  8. Thomas Veitch

  9. Declan Hay

  10. Fa'atonu Fili

  11. Ryan Setefano

  12. Aviata Silago

  13. JP Tocker

  14. Andrew Wells

  15. Declan McKeefrey.

The game starts at 3pm. For the early game at Evans Bay, also against OBU, a strong senior 1 side has been named. The senior 2s take on OBU across the road on Kilbirnie Park 3 at 1.15pm.

The clubrooms will be open after the game to host our OBU visitors. Various Easter specials will be on offer, so all supporters are invited to what should be a great opening day for the club season.

MoST Content Management V3.0.6852