Wellington Rugby Finals Day on 5 August

Petone Recreation Ground will play host to a day of Wellington club rugby finals including the showpiece 2017 Bartercard Jubilee Cup.

There will be six club finals at the Petone Rec on Saturday, August 5 culminating in the Bartercard Jubilee Cup final at 2.30pm on the No.1 ground.

Wellington Rugby chief executive Steve Rogers said it was a great chance for the rugby community to come together and celebrate the 2017 season.

"Our new competition format has created the opportunity to bring four of our grades together and with four high quality fields all in one place the Petone Recreation Ground was the ideal venue for a true Finals Day."

Rogers noted the success of this year's season opening Gala Day at Awakairangi Park in Upper Hutt.

"The Gala Day highlighted what our clubs can do when we come together and it was fantastic to see so many families enjoying the day. I'm sure the 2017 Finals Day will create the same atmosphere with plenty of food for the supporters and activities for the kids."

It will be the first time the Jubilee Cup final has been played at the Petone Rec since 2011 when Oriental-Rongotai won their maiden title. The finals were also played there in 1998 when Western Suburbs won its only Jubilee Cup.

Lower Hutt Mayor Ray Wallace said it would be fantastic to have club rugby finals back in Lower Hutt.

"It's great news for Lower Hutt and even better that we can provide facilities to attract and support such large events.  I'm hoping there will be at least one Hutt club in the finals and our many visitors enjoy a great day."

Last year's Bartercard Jubilee Cup final was hosted at Jerry Collins Stadium in Porirua where Tawa became the fifth different winner in six years.

The 2017 Wellington club rugby finals day schedule on Saturday, August 5 is:

Petone Rec 1
12pm: Victoria Tavern Trophy (Women's Div 1)
2:30pm: Bartercard Jubilee Cup
Petone Rec 2 
12pm: Ed Chaney Cup (Premier Reserve)
Petone Rec 3  
12pm: John E Kelly Memorial Cup (Colts Div 1)
Petone Rec 4  
12pm: Women's Division Two
2:30pm: Vic Calcinai Memorial Cup (Colts Div 2)

MoST Content Management V3.0.6374